To acquire the habit of reading is to construct for yourself a refuge from almost all the miseries of life.

W. Somerset Maugham

About Us



Office Bearers for the Year 2017/2018

President                             Mrs Anne Davies
Vice President                     Mrs Alice Chapman
Honorary Secretary            Mr Jonathan Stewart
Honorary Treasurer            Mr David Lewis

Ms Karen Blair
Mr Hugh Campbell
Mr Peter Cavan
Professor Yvonne Galligan
Dr Eamonn Hughes
Mr Jack Johnston
Mr Alan Kershaw
Ms Maureen Mackin
Mr Hugh Odling-Smee
Mr Cliff Radcliffe
Mr Maolcholaim Scott

Belfast City Council Observer
Councillor John Hussey

Linen Hall Library ConstitutionThe Library’s Constitution dates from 1891 and is originally framed under the Educational Endowments Act (Ireland), 1885 and subsequent amendments. In 2004 the membership of the Library endorsed the most significant amendments to the Constitution since its original formulation, designed to enable the Governors to operate in line with best modern practice in the charitable sector. If you would like to read the Constitution in full, please click here.